28th september – 2nd october, Hamburg guest spot at jungbluth

Posted: 08/10/2015 in Uncategorized
Tags:

every six months i work in Hamburg for a week, and it was time for my second visit of the year. Whenever I go back to the Jungbluth studio, it’s all changed, and this time was no exception. Most of the tattooists have moved on to work in other studios or are about to go it alone and open their own place, leaving the owner with half the staff he used to have. He is using it as an opportunity to downsize, and next time I’m there he will have moved the whole studio yet again.

I will miss a couple of the artists i have worked with there, but I’m sure the new ones will be fun, too.

My work station this time was in a different place from last time, too, and i struggled with the light a bit. The weather was exceptionally beautiful for early autumn, unfortunately this meant the sun was in my eyes a lot, and as he windows are tall with no blinds, i had to move around quite a lot to find/create some shade. You can see from the photos that the light was very bright, I’ve edited them so that the brightness is turned down, and now some of them just look a bit strange.

Next time will be different, that’s for sure, the new studio work stations will have no natural light. That doesn’t sound good normally, but it’s actually much easier for tattooing purposes, as you can control the lght to suit your needs.

So, apologies for the strange looking photos.

My first appointment was Hayni, he lives with type 1 diabetes, and wanted to mark the spot of his pancreas and all the trouble that comes from his condition. He chose a positive and kind of rock’n’roll sort of design, let’s hope it has a positive effect!

Robert wanted me to do a couple of prints, hand of his daughter and foot of his baby son, with dates and a wee tiara for his daughter

I get asked to do smaller pieces in Hamburg usually, as it doesn’t suit everyone to have to wait for 6 months in between sessions to get a big tattoo done. here’s a small foot tattoo I did as an add on to a larger piece

and a little piece of script

and here is, the complete opposite of what I was just saying, the start of a fairy backpiece 🙂

I also added some colour to a koi dragon I did last time

and a compass in an arty/ water colour kind of way to Martje’s mermaid

I used the city bicycle scheme while I was in Hamburg this time, it’s a great way to get around! Specially as the weather was so good, it was great fun zipping around town.

People in Hamburg love their bikes, and using them is easy- the place is completely flat and there are bike lanes everywhere. Check out how many parked bikes are in this picture, and that’s completely commonplace everywhere

I cycle back home in Edinburgh, where I’m dealing with steep hills, cobbles and dodging buses in the bus lanes, so this was quite a change!

I took a couple of other photos, the green grocer with a full sleeve of fruit and veg tattoo 🙂

and a couple of the coffee shop where I stop by for my espresso when I’m there. I’m starting to get recognised in there, makes me feel like a local 🙂

Leave a comment