27th may -3rd june

Posted: 04/06/2015 in Uncategorized
Tags:

we started Tony’s phoenix sleeve last time, and today we got stuck into some colouring

John is getting little bits added to his backpiece, we are venturing into the arm pit and tinkering with the edges

and Johnny had a short session on his dragon piece.

I’m starting a new sleeve here, Stefan was after quite a chunky dragon wrapping around his arm, as his first piece 🙂

Here are some pictures of the initial drawing i did, this is how most of my work starts. I draw it all on, using different coloured pens for various design elements, that way i can make sure the design is tailor made and fits the shape of the body part well. It’s important to me that the tattoo works well with the movements of the arm or wherever it sits, that’s why I usually don’t draw on paper first- I get the best results designing it straight on.

The initial drawing is always a bit of a mess, but luckily my customers are trusting people and let me go for it!

and how far we got on the day. We had enough time to make a small start on the shading, that was good going. i would have been happy with getting all the lining done, so bonus!

Stefan has muscles on top of muscles (20 years of working as a grave digger!) which was great fun to work with, I routed the dragon around the features of the arm, it felt quite sculptural as a process!

I went to belfast to work at my friend’s studio there for a day. What happened was that I had planned to work at the belfast tattoo convention, but had accidentally double booked myself, and had already signed up for the Luxembourg one instead….

I had two customers booked in for Belfast, so I didn’t want to let them down. My friend Helen has a studio called Skullduggery there, so I took an early morning flight and set up with her for the day.

My first Belfast customer was Danny, I had done a phoenix sleeve on him back in Edinburgh, but since then he had moved back to his native ireland, so we had planned on starting the second sleeve there.

Danny’s brief was wonderful: I want the goddess Guanyin being taken to hell on a supernatural tiger, where she rescues the lost souls there’. There was to be a sexy vampire somewhere, too, (of course!).  We made a start on the goddess, the lotus she sits in, and the tiger behind her. It’s all quite rough still, but we know where we are going now. The hell section of the piece will be at the top, just to make matters more confusing. 🙂

my second customer was Chesney, i had done a peony on her shoulder at the last belfast convention, and had promised her the other one this time. (the butterfly in the middle isn’t by me)

Back in Glasgow, Dale had another session on his storm piece, we worked on the clouds a bit more, and brought the shading down onto the forearm, where there is a tree and some swallows flying low. As they do in a storm.

It’s starting to come together, apart from the inside of the arm, which we haven’t really tackled yet.

Comments
  1. lucy cameron says:

    Dannys piece is gorjussss!

Leave a Reply

