20th- 24th October, guest spot at Jungbluth , Hamburg

Posted: 27/10/2014 in Uncategorized

my biannual week in Hamburg 🙂

It’s always good to see my coworkers at Jungbluth again, catch up and see what has been happening in the last 6 months since I was there last. Jungbluth tattoo studio is my work away from work, my alternative reality where I become ‘Morag from Jungbluth’ as opposed to Tribe…

It always feels a bit strange, disloyal even, but it’s good to step out of your usual world sometimes! I always come back with new ideas and insights that make me think. And that’s what it’s all about i suppose.

I have my regular clients in Hamburg, and projects I work on when I am there, like Sandra’s backpiece.

we started it last time, the brief was to add to some tribal style swirls and make it into a whole back piece, incorporating a variety of elements that Sandra liked.

We had done all the outline and started on little bits of colour here and there, but today we got stuck into the roses, lots of reds and pinks.

More flowers next, Mirella had got a gladiola on her hip and side done by me when I first came to Jungbluth, 3 years ago now. She had decided it was time to grow some more gladiolas and wanted to extend the piece up and over onto her shoulder, which worked well-specially considering gladiolas are such straight and upright flowers!

The next day another massive project, the second sitting on Marko’s backpiece. He sits for 7 1/2 hours at a time, an all day appointment. yes, dear people, he is nails.

Marko loves comics and fantasy type of things, and his backpiece is a collection of images that tell a story. He lost me somewhat along the way with the narrative, but as long as I can put the images together for him in the way he wants them, that’s the main thing. Today we brought the separate images we did last time together, with the cloak of the upper figure which turns into a nasty skull at the bottom. Next time there will be some colour and we will be working on the detailling, too.

Nicole wanted a cover up of a wee red devil, it’s hidden in the darker leaves of the lily here. We might need to go over some of those leaves again next time I’m there, cover ups like that usually take a second coat in places.

And then the wonderful Martje, who I have been working on pretty much every time I’ve been in Hamburg, and she has even come to get some work by me in Edinburgh 🙂

we started on a new project today, a cute mermaid on her leg. Next time we will do the colour and some background shading

And last but not least, a new customer called Anja, who liked the idea of black and grey roses with delicate filigree swirls connecting them. Anja has quite a few roses already by another artist, she is a bit of a rose tattoo collector, so I think she’ll be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

