tattoo tea party convention, Manchester

Posted: 04/03/2013 in Uncategorized

Roz and me travelled down to manchester early on saturday morning, got to the convention centre just as the convention opened, and hastily set up our booth. We are dab hands at getting this organised, so we didn’t embarrass ourselves too much with our lateness, at least that’s what i told myself.

I knew we’d be sailing a bit close to the wind, so I had arranged to meet my customer for the day a bit later, and the appointment was to start at 1pm, giving me enough time to set up properly and catch my breath.
As it turned out laura, my appointment, was running later herself, so we had a leisurely start at 2pm, giving me enough time to  have a look about and spend lots of money at the tattoo supply stalls….(I find the colours hard to resist, the cute little bottles smiling at me in all their different hues, like sweeties).

Laura’s sleeve of scifi/ War of the Worlds/nasty octopus is nearing completion, and looks as wonderfully bonkers as her other sleeve with the Clocktopus/ steampunk theme.
I wish I could say I had something to do with the ideas behind these two pieces, but laura was the mastermind and me just the giggling accomplice who turned her plans into tattoos.  It has been a lot of fun 😀

Laura’s appointment took us into the evening, and we called it a day after she was wrapped up. There was an aftershow party on the saturday, but this year Roz and me were not there to party, and we were tucked up in bed before midnight.
I don’t quite get the mid convention party idea, it’s not a great idea to be hung over for sunday’s day of work, not even for the crazy young ‘uns, surely it’s better to let your hair down when all is done and dusted?

Next year I’ll go down and just visit, not work, then i can show them how to party scottish style, ha!

the next day, bright eyed and fighting fit, we made our way back to the convention. I had Kaz booked in to get a phoenix on her arm, and an ‘escapee giraffe’ on her back  😀

the phoenix is a symbol of a new and more positive chapter in her life starting, and she wanted it in blues and purples instead of red, just because she could, and it suited the wee bunny tattoo that it’s going around better.

the escapee giraffe is a tiny little giraffe hiding in a tattoo we did a while ago, and it’s escaped from a larger giraffe tattoo we did last year at the same convention. It all makes perfect sense! 😀

the escapee giraffe and a detail of the piece it escaped from (done last year)

I forgot to take pictures of the convention until it was nearly closing time, here are a couple of shots from around our booth


more pictures can be found on the tattoo tea party facebook page if you’re interested!

I caught up with a few old pals and had some interesting conversations, as usual I am coming away from a convention with food for thought. That is by far the best thing about doing these events, catching up with folk and being inspired.
I noticed that there are fewer people wanting to get tattooed at conventions, we used to field questions all the time, now we don’t even see the old bargain hunters about. All the appointments are made in advance, and you can’t rely on making bookings on the day like you used to. I prefer it this way, as I like to know what I will be tattooing and it means you don’t have to prepare for all eventualities and only bring the stuff you need.
But it does take that spontaneous edge away, and you are stuffed if you didn’t get booked in advance.
It’s both the changing tattoo scene and the recession I think.

Leave a Reply

