monday 15th august

Posted: 15/08/2011 in morag sangster, tattooist female, Uncategorized

Well. I meant to write my blog about the work I did at Tribe 2 on saturday, but have managed to wipe ALL the photos on my camera, including the ones from saturday!  😳

Luckily both customers will be in again, so I’ll be posting more complete pictures of their pieces at a later date.

So, I’ll write about what I did today, instead, if you don’t mind, even though it’s not about tattooing.
I’m off this whole week doing some work at the local art college I’m involved with, this week we’re concentrating on figure drawing and painting. As usual we start off with short sketches to loosen up and get into the swing of it all, sort of like a singer warming up their voice so to speak.
Our model today was nice and chubby, great for painting and drawing   😀

then out tutor had this idea that we should continue to paint our model using only a squeegee, like one of those ice scrapers you use on your car… not the easiest thing to use, because of course you can’t draw any curves with it, or do any shading, just 5 inch lines. We were allowed to use some white chalk at the end to add highlights or definition, and although it felt pretty awkward at first, it turned out to be great fun and quite expressive in an angular kind of way.

at the end of the session we added some white and black paint and a 2 inch brush to our arsenal, normally not the most sophisticated sort of painting implement, but it felt quite luxurious after trying to get by with an ice scraper!  😀

so, this is the kind of thing I’ll be up to for the rest of the week, I’ll see you all back here next week!

Leave a Reply

