wednesday 3rd + thursday 4th august

Posted: 09/08/2011 in japanese tattoo, morag sangster, tattoo, tattoo studio scotland, tattooist female, Uncategorized

I apologize for the randomness and late blogs, there’s a lot going on at the moment like the tattoo Jam convention in Doncaster.
Normally I’d be working at this convention, but apart from wanting to take time off from doing conventions, this one in particular is a bit of a controversial one these days.
Don’t ask, just stupid politics, but by taking part you are inadvertently making a statement which might prevent you from taking part in other ones. All very silly unfortunately, but I made the decision to stay away this year.
I’m going off the idea of working at conventions a bit, it’s a costly and disruptive business, packing up your studio like that and travelling to wherever the convention is.
I’m loving my work and customers back home, I’ve got all these great projects on the go and pieces I want to get stuck into, it doesn’t seem too tempting to go and work somewhere else for a weekend. Most of my pieces are large projects that can’t be done in one sitting, so when I’m at a convention I either do smaller pieces or bring the ‘unfinished customer’ with me to work on, either kind of defeats the purpose, really.

I used to find conventions exciting, meeting new people and checking out their portfolios, see what’s hot and what not, networking and shmoozing.
I still do to an extent, but I’ve come to realise that I can just visit the convention without actually working at it, do all the above, and go back home to my customers  😀
The recession has hit conventions noticeably, too, there are still plenty of people attending, but much less so to get tattooed, just to browse. I’ve noticed some artists not getting any work t all during a convention, unheard of just a few years ago. Really, to be on the safe side you’d want to book up beforehand, bookings via the internet with a deposit to safeguard it, or you might lose out, making it a very expensive flop indeed.
I went to the Tattoo Jam on the artist friday, a trade only day with lectures etc, which was pretty good, although it seemed a bit on the quiet side. I’ve spoken to friends who worked at the whole convention since, and they were not too happy with it- apparently there wasn’t much work, predictably.

Having said all that, I will be working at a wee convention in leamington Spa in october, because it’s an all female artist one, and the first one of it’s kind in the UK. I’m curious, looking forward to hooking up with a few people i know will be there, but I’m not expecting anything major.

Anyway, onto some work that I’ve been doing.
Mhairi got her cute super lucky cat tattoo extended, she felt it needed some clouds and a sun, and I was happy to oblige  😀

I also started a dragon 3/4 sleeve, we had a good long session booked to I could take my time drawing it on and lining it, even had some time left for a bit of shading

Also natasha was back in the country and we added a couple of wee flowers to her backpiece. This was a bit of a fixer-upper, and Roz is in the process of lasering an old section that was a clumsy cover-up. Once that’s light enough we can turn it into something a bit more pleasing than a black blob  😆

Leave a Reply

