tuesday 17th may, Hamburg

Posted: 18/05/2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been a bit of a mad weekend, and I’m now working in Hamburg, at the Jungbluth studio in St Pauli, the same studio I did a day’s work in last year. I enjoyed it back then and Charly the owner was keen to have me back, so we arranged for me to do a week long guest spot, and this is it now.

The studio is really nice and the people are a lot of fun, easy to get along with, which is alway a bonus in a working environment! I’ll take some photos during the week to show you what it looks like, or maybe I’ll even try and shoot a video and post it on youtube! check me, moving with the times haha!

There’s a bit of a mix up with the photos from the last few days, I’ve forgotten the cable that connects to the camera, so there are two tattoos missing from the line up, the rest were photographed with my phone and can be uploaded.
I worked on an angel tattoo on saturday back in Edinburgh, and on monday here in Germany I did a voodoo koala bear in a tree, I’ have to post the photos of those two up when I get back.
Also on saturday I put some more colour in Amy’s leaves

Then onto my Hamburg adventure, monday’s voodoo koala to follow, and tuesday started off with a bit of flash.
I was expecting the receptionist to book me quite a bit of flash, as I was coming over to ‘help out’ as it were, meaning to muck in with whatever needs done. As it turns out this piece is the only one that isn’t what I’d normally be doing back home, the rest of my appointments are for freehand pieces that I’ll love doing 🙂

Having said that, I don’t mind doing the odd bit of flash, which brings me to something I’ve been meaning to tell youse about, my monthly charity tattoo.
This is something I’m starting, every month I’ll do a bit of flash, something small that can be done in an hour, and the proceeds will go to a charity. As you probably know, I’m interested in animal welfare, so the charities I chose will be reflect that, and the person who gets the tattoo will be able to chose one from a list that I’m going to put together.
If you are interested in a small piece of flash from me, get in touch with Roz or Laura, this should be fun and for a good cause  😀

So, I’m going to donate the profits from this piece to charity, and this month’s charity is the sharkproject, it’s a german charity that the owner of the studio here, Charly, is involved in and feels passionately about.
I agree wholeheartedly with him, countless sharks are killed for their fins alone, a cruel waste of life and a danger to the eco system of the oceans.
The charity’s website is in german, so I’ve found a UK equivalent if you’d like more information about the work they do
http://www.sharktrust.org/content.asp?did=31504&backto=u_search3.asp&curpage

the charity tattoo was a small winged wolf piece, she’d designed it herself and it symbolised the two halves of her youth, one spent with an abusive father, the other with a loving mother after a custody battle. She feels she has come to terms with her past now and is sealing it with a tatto that includes the chinese symbol for strength.

then I did a freehand phoenix tattoo, this was a lot of fun and Nina the customer was a lovely girl who suits her new tattoo!

Comments
  1. Angie says:

    The phoenix is amazing Morag! Wow.Lucky Nina x

  2. Nina says:

    Thank you so much for this awesome phoenix Morag!!
    I love it 😀

  3. Torsten says:

    I also have to thank you once more for my awesome voodoo-koala! just made an appointment in your studio in edingburgh for october! 🙂
    looking forward, so you can finish what you’ve started, hehe…

    best, torsten

Leave a Reply

